The Pennsylvania - Delaware String Teachers Association

Orchestra Education Scholarship

Every June PADESTA awards our annual PADESTA Orchestra Education Scholarship to a deserving graduating high school senior who will be attending college for a degree in music education.  

Scholarship Criteria

The 2019 PADESTA Orchestra Education Scholarship is available to a graduating high school senior who is a resident of Pennsylvania or Delaware. Applicants must be nominated by a PADESTA member in good standing, and the applicant must be accepted to an accredited collegiate program with a declared major in music education (or a dual major including music education). Applicants should be active members of their high school orchestra, or a community or youth orchestra if no school orchestra program exists.

Application Procedures

Download the application by clicking this link. Print and fill out the application, and submit all required items (originals) as one complete application packet to:

Dr. Jeffrey Tedford, PADESTA President-Elect
Grove City College
100 Campus Drive
Grove City, PA 16127
or submit your application here.


Upon review of all applications, one recipient of the 2019 PADESTA Orchestra Education Scholarship will be awarded $1,000.00 (made payable to the recipient’s college or university).

2016 Scholarship Recipient

This year, our PADESTA Student Scholarship was awarded to Erin Marshall a high school senior violinist from Elizabethtown, PA. She will be attending Lebanon Valley College as a Violin Major in Music Education. Quotes from her nominators:  “I have known very few students who are as prepared as Erin to become a very successful and influential string teacher.” “Watching Erin and her violin sharing the same space to produce the emotions of music is beyond description.”  In addition, it was commented that “What makes Erin truly outstanding is not only her ability to excel individually, but also her positive influence on others.”  These are necessary traits of effective and successful string music educators.

Past Scholarship Recipients   

2018––Sarah Bitsko
2017––Not awarded (no applications received)
2016––Erin Marshall

2015––Emily Ho
2014––Blair Cunningham
2013––Elijah Green
2012––Not awarded (no applications received)
2011––Brahmii Lagrutta
2010––Angela Richards
2009––Not awarded (no applications received)
2008––Sarah Herb
2007––Andrew L. Jones